top of page


Formed in 2008 by Orpheus Leander Papafilippou and Dr Patrick Noronha this dynamic young ensemble has been making waves on London’s vibrant musical scene and further a field. 

Music of the Spheres Ensemble are a flexible group whose core string players are the Orfeas String Quartet, their performances are insightful, energetic and vibrant interpretations of the orchestral repertoire, string orchestra literature and chamber literature for mixed ensembles. Their programming juxtaposes contemporary composers with established masterworks.

Through diverse and inspired programming the Music of the Spheres Ensemble can be heard performing;


Vivaldi’s Four Seasons on period instruments to performing Astor Piazzolla’s dynamic and captivating Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas.  

Beethoven symphonies, concertos and chamber works, a composer who is central to their musical credo, who was a ground breaking force in the Arts. To collaborating with and premiering the music of contemporary composers of today.

Their concert appearances include St Martin in the Fields, Princess Alexandra Hall Royal Over-Seas League, St Paul's Church Covent Garden, Cadogan Hall and their residency at St John’s Church Notting Hill.  Recently they made their Austrian debut performing concerts in  Graz and Vienna.  In 2017 in addition to their London Concerts they will be performing in Dresden and Leipzig in Germany.

Orpheus Leander - Artistic Director 


Music as a language is so rich and deeply rewarding that every day is a treasure chest for further discovery.

Orpheus - Violinist and Artistic Director of the Music of the Spheres Ensemble enjoys a performing career as a soloist, director, chamber musician and ensemble leader in Europe, Asia, Africa and America.

High points include performing Mozart's violin concerto No 5 with the Music of the Spheres Ensemble at St Martin in the Fields, Vivaldi's Four Seasons at St James Piccadilly,  performances of the Beethoven Violin Concerto, collaborating with the Balletboyz as solo tango violinist in the Queen Elizabeth Hall and recital tours of China and Europe.  In 2011 he toured England performing ‘The Lark Ascending’ with the generous support of the Ralph Vaughan Williams Charity. 

As a soloist he has shared the stage with violists Andriy Viytovych and Yuri Zhislin, his recital partners include Geoffrey Pratley, Alberto Portugheis, Rimantas Vingras and Lada Valešová. As a chamber musician he enjoys leading the Orfeas String Quartet.  As a soloist he has performed with conductors Dr Patrick Noronha, Bridget Cunningham, Scott Wilson, Luke Cleghorn, Ricardo Gonzalez, Cathal Garvey and Michael Nebe amongst others.

In addition to his work as a performer he enjoys composing music for the theatre and has had several successful scores performed both on and off London’s West End!

‘a penetrating account of Beethoven’s Violin Concerto with Orpheus Papafilippou a commanding soloist of great breadth and sensitivity.’
Robert Matthew - Walker - Musical Opinion

Dr Patrick Noronha - Conductor Emeritus

Dr Noronha has been a conductor and patron of the arts of great note and distinction for many years. His artistic and philanthropic work in the field of music is both enlightened and inspiring. In  1964 he was instrumental in creating a concert for Pope Paul VI with the collaboration of the great band leader Hal Green, at the request of Cardinal Valerian Gracis to an audience of 20, 000 in Mumbai, India. In his early years he collaborated and trained under the legendary Mehli Mehta (father of Zubin Mehta) founder of the Bombay Symphony Orchestra and studied with Herbert Von Karajan.

Principal Guest Directors include:

Bridget Cunningham - Director/Harpsichord

Scott Wilson - Conductor

Luke Cleghorn - Conductor

Ricardo Gonzalez - Conductor

Cathal Garvey - Conductor 

Some of our players include:


Orfeas String Quartet - Principal String players

Orpheus Leander - Violin Leader

Ayako Yamazaki - Violin

Yohei Nakajima - Viola

Idlir Shyti - Cello


‘Mozart’s Dissonance Quartet was exquisite’
Ken Carter - The Archer

Tim Robinson - Violin

Stephanie Waite - Violin

Nichola Blakey - Viola

Daniel Burrowes Cello

Lowri Preston - Cello

Damon Burrowes - Double Bass

Enrique Galassi - Double Bass

Jennifer Keesey - Double Bass

Sarah Desbruslais - Flute

Sylvia Ellison - Oboe

Alex  Allen - Clarinet

Mark Paine - Horn

Hannes Arnold - Horn

bottom of page